Giving a Fuck, Mate: Banrock Station

banrock-station-logo

Company: Banrock Station
Location: Australia
Product: a wide variety of wines

Personally phasing away from bottled wines, which are very resource-intensive for their overall usage (and at the rate I drink ’em), I was perusing the box wine section a few weeks ago.

Especially in a little ‘ol town like mine this sub-genre remains quite static, but a new brand had made its way on to the shelf, and with many different varieties at that. (Actually, to be more factually fair and honest about my lack of character, it looks as if the company had gone through a rebranding, and as much as I know I shouldn’t “judge a book by its cover”, I definitely did that and didn’t buy Banrock wine before because the glossy boxes looked like shit.)

I went for the Shiraz which usually isn’t a go-to of any sort for me, so I really have no idea why I did that, but it was actually excellent. I’ve been entertaining the box wine realm for a while, stubbornly trying to find the best boxes I can advocate the cause for, and it’s definitely one of the best I’ve had thus far.

Banrock Station is a vineyard out of Australia, with a developed variety of whites, reds, and everything in between. According to its website, Banrock Station has devoted over 6 million AU to over 130 countries for environmental projects, from animal conservation to plant preservation across the globe. It also has a managed wetlands right next to its wine-making property.

I’ll drink to that.

One response to “Giving a Fuck, Mate: Banrock Station

  1. Pingback: Local* Favorite: 8 Feathers’ Vanilla Bean Whiskey | Day Old Salads·

Leave a Reply

